Lessons from the dance floor

danceDo you know what I learned this weekend? I learned that for me dancing the electric slide is not like riding a bike. It is not something that I just remembered how to do. I shouldn’t have walked out onto the dance floor and expected all of the steps to come back to me. No amount of wine was going to help me and I think if I’m honest with myself I think it might have been a contributing factor in my subpar performance.

In case you are the one person in the world who doesn’t know the electric slide, it’s a simple dance, basically a lot of shuffling. In fact, when you have a second, watch it on YouTube. It’s fantastic. You are going to love every second of it.

Anyway, I seem to recall being fairly excellent at it when I was a kid. I know that my memory is faulty when it comes to what I was and was not capable of as a child, but I had to have been better at it than I was the other night. I don’t think for the duration of the song that I was ever going in the correct direction and there is a poor woman out there who nearly had to limp off the dance floor when I stepped on her foot.

I only danced to one other song that night. I forced my poor husband to dance to YMCA and it was awkward and we were clumsy and ridiculous. Twice, I tried to do the letters too early and my husband kept doing a backwards letter C. We made up for our ineptitude with buckets and buckets of enthusiasm and we had fun.

I know what you’re thinking. You’re thinking, oh here we go, Amanda is going to take her tipsy foray onto a crowded dance floor and turn it into some sort of life lesson.

And my answer to that? Yes. Yes, I am.

There are so many times that I don’t want to do something or I hold myself back because I don’t want to look foolish. There was a time that my butchery of the electric slide would have mortified me. But now, that I’m trying to loosen up and not be so hard on myself I think, what’s so terrible about looking foolish? Do I have such a weak sense of humor that I can’t even enjoy a joke at my own expense? Do you know what’s really foolish? Not ever doing anything at all because of being afraid of being laughed at. No, it’s not foolish. It’s sad.

So, from here on out, I’m up for it. I’m doing it. I’m going to treat my life like I’m in the middle of a dance floor and I’m trying to learn the steps as I go. What I do know how to do I’m going to do with enthusiasm. Gusto even. What I don’t, well, I’m going to learn. And until I do, I’m going to have a sense of humor about it.

If you’re out here on the dance floor with me, I’ll try to be mindful of your toes.

Sidenote: I’m going to be doing Inktober for the first time, which is an ink drawing for every day in the month of October. I’m not committing to 31 drawings, but I am hoping to do what they call the half-Marathon, only an ink drawing every other day. I plan to write a post about it at the end of the month and share my work, so stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

